#610 – Application Event Sequence

The sequence of events for an application’s main Application object that are fired are as follows (all events listed in the order that they fire):

When you start the application:

  • Startup
  • Activated

When you shut the application down normally (i.e. close main window):

  • Deactivated
  • Exit

If the application experiences an unhandled exception:

  • DispatcherUnhandledException

If user is logging out of or shutting down Windows:

  • Deactivated
  • SessionEnding

Application gets focus:

  • Activated

Application loses focus:

  • Deactivated

About Sean
Software developer in the Twin Cities area, passionate about .NET technologies. Equally passionate about my own personal projects related to family history and preservation of family stories and photos.

2 Responses to #610 – Application Event Sequence

  1. Pingback: Application Event Sequence in WPF | Around computing

  2. Pingback: Dew Drop – July 25, 2012 (#1,371) | Alvin Ashcraft's Morning Dew

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: