#610 – Application Event Sequence

The sequence of events for an application’s main Application object┬áthat are fired are as follows (all events listed in the order that they fire):

When you start the application:

  • Startup
  • Activated

When you shut the application down normally (i.e. close main window):

  • Deactivated
  • Exit

If the application experiences an unhandled exception:

  • DispatcherUnhandledException

If user is logging out of or shutting down Windows:

  • Deactivated
  • SessionEnding

Application gets focus:

  • Activated

Application loses focus:

  • Deactivated