#573 – Workspaces in Blend

When you work in Blend, you can move windows around within Blend, or move them outside of the main Blend GUI.  Blend restores the last known arrangements of windows when you start up again.  You can also save a particular arrangement of windows, so that you can later restore the same arrangement.  These saved configurations are known as workspaces.

To save your current window configuration, select Save as New Workspace, under the Window menu.  You’ll be asked to give the new workspace a name.

After creating a new workspace, you can switch between it and other workspaces by selecting a workspace under the Workspaces submenu in the Window menu.

You’ll notice that there are two preexisting workspaces: Design and Animation.  Design is the default workspace that shows up when you first start Blend.  Animation puts the Objects and Timeline window below the artboard so that storyboard timelines can be wider.

About Sean
Software developer in the Twin Cities area, passionate about .NET technologies. Equally passionate about my own personal projects related to family history and preservation of family stories and photos.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: